Forever Young

I am in a strange place in life. I’m in my mid twenties (on the back end, but still mid). I’m the youngest amongst my co-workers, which helps me retain my youthful status, but also allows me to interact with more uh…”seasoned” adults. I am usually one of the oldest in the college classes I attend nightly, which helps me reconnect with “kids these days”, but also constantly reminds me that I am not one of them. Along with these conflicts, I am single and without children, so that alienates me from a lot of my peers. Confusing!

I tend to side with the aspects of my life that make me feel and behave young. I do realize that mid-twenties is still fairly young, and that those who are into their later years might be cursing me silently while reading this, but just hang in there. You’ll see where I’m going.

Over the past couple of months, I have found 3 gray hairs near my temples. 3. As if that weren’t traumatic enough, I have also only been carded ONCE when buying alcoholic beverages in the past month. ONCE! There comes a time in a woman’s life when she longs for the suspicious lingering look at her driver’s license. Now, I don’t even get a courtesy check! The law states that vendors are to ID anyone who looks as if they COULD be under 35. THIRTY-FIVE! The last time this happened (at a liquor store this past weekend) I sort of let my outrage show. I demanded that he look at my ID, and mentioned that he was lucky I wasn’t an undercover cop or for that matter, a teenager with impeccable taste in wine. He just stared at me and pretended to glance at my ID. Awful.

It needs to be said that I promptly ordered an anti-aging regimen from Sephora.com and I’m expecting youthful exuberance to arrive in 3-5 business days.

Stay tuned for updates on my self-esteem.

Leave a Reply

