Off to See the Wizard

Tonight I’ll be boarding a plane headed to Boston. I’ve never been to the east coast and I’m very excited to make the trip, even if it is by myself.

I’m making a pilgrimage, of sorts, and going to attend an album release event for the New Kids on the Block. If you’ve ever read my blog before then you know I’m a lifelong fan of the group. I was practically born lusting after Joe McIntyre. Up until recently, however, my fandom has been pretty lazy. I didn’t realize it was lazy until I came in contact with the members of the NKOTB Fanclub. The Blockheads.

I became a Blockhead in January when I learned it would grant me early access to concert tickets and help ensure I’d be in the first few rows of any show I wanted to attend. I’m a concert elitist, after all, and nosebleed seats just won’t do. Along with early access to shows, I gained access into the message boards on the band’s website. I’ve learned so much. And I’m a little frightened.

The guys in 1990 and again in present day

The guys in 1990 and again in present day

These women, because there are only women, are insane. They have dedicated their lives to NKOTB. They spend thousands of dollars yearly on tours, cruises, special events and merchandise. They devote hours and hours of time to NKOTB-related charities and twitter campaigns. They tweet literally hundreds of times a day to try and get a glimmer of attention from their favorite New Kid. All of this behavior makes me feel normal again, and it is a relief. These likeminded women are a godsend and even just through the virtual world of the online forums I’ve started to learn to stop automatically defending my fandom. Let’s start embracing!

I tell you all of this because I’m attending my first “Blockhead event” tomorrow. I, along with 1,999 other women will be crammed into the Orpheum Theatre in Boston tomorrow night to help NKOTB usher in their latest album, “10”. I have no idea what to expect from the event or from the other ladies, but I am positive it will provide some really entertaining blog-fodder.

I’ll take notes and try not to get lynched by a mob of Blockheads so that I can get back to you all and give a glimpse to the inside world of adult boyband fans.

2 thoughts on “Off to See the Wizard

  1. BigL says:

    Let’s break this glimpse inside the world of adult boyband fans down. Adult, ok….I’m with you, Boyband, eh….I’ve seen a video or two…still “Hangin’ Tough”, Fans…I use them and am one, but you DID just “blow my mind” when I put this altogether. I am waiting anxiously to visulaize this idiosyncratic species through the picture of your words! Oh, HAVE FUN!

  2. jessicagimeno says:

    How was that event? I’ve never been to an NKOTB “event” just concerts. When I start to sound crazy, I also compare myself to the fans who have the guys’ faces tattooed to their bodies and the fans who throw their bras on stage…still after all these years, and I feel “normal” again.

Leave a Reply

