Baby, I’m a Wanderer

I need something. Something to harness and focus my energy. I’m going a bit stir-crazy this winter and no wonder! I’m completely devoid of anything to champion or look forward to and I can’t survive on work alone.

It’s no secret that I’m a fangirl. Not just for New Kids on the Block but for anything I really like. I get all giddy and go to a happy place when there’s something I’m really excited about on the horizon. Right now, however, there is nothing.

In my fangirl travels, I’ve met some really cool like-minded people. Especially the Blockheads. I know, I know…nobody wants to hear me talk about NKOTB again. Well, too bad. I’m doing it.

2013 was the year my NKOTB fandom got serious. I joined the fanclub, traveled to Boston to attend their album release party and saw three stops on their summer tour. I filled the lulls with Twitter-fests, blogging and forums on the site, getting excited for upcoming stuff with other blockheads and just discussing our common interests in general. I planned outfits, travel, activities, witty banter…anything. I was consumed.

So now what? There is no planned 2014 tour for NKOTB. In fact, I have no plans to attend any concerts so far. This is unusual for me. There’s ALWAYS an artist I’m waiting to see or an event I’m super-pumped to attend. But not right now. Nothing. I’m stagnant.

If I have to exist merely in my own present life, there are going to be some issues. I need excitement! I need to be around interesting people and do interesting things. I can’t be left to my own devices or I’ll end up getting stuck in the butt-groove I’ll no doubt create from all the sitting and watching TV.

What do I do now?! I need to fangirl about something in a very real way. Give me something. Now.

Who else is touring? Any old gems from the 80s or 90s? I like those the best. I’ll travel (as long as someone else drives…my car doesn’t do that). I’ll provide witty commentary and I’m willing to do a lot for a little adventure. In a non-illegal or sexual way. Mostly.

Let’s wander. Let’s get weird. Let’s just go.

One thought on “Baby, I’m a Wanderer

  1. I’d like to hear about what you’re watching on TV–old shows, new shows. And by the way, there is no such thing as too much New Kids on the Block. That’s like having too much fresh air or sunshine. It does not exist.

Leave a Reply

